Leave a comment

A Wind

kqSunflowers

A wind swirling and unsettled

Drifts warmly across my face

Soothing and soft as a caress

Making me wish for its return

A wind swirling and unsettled

Buffets my hair quit suddenly

Pulling and tangling it teasingly

Making me sorry it had come

A wind swirling and unsettled

Spins by me without touching

Ignoring my presence with intent

Making me seem quite invisible

A wind swirling and unsettled

Slams into me with aggression

Stinging my skin as though a slap

Making me wonder what I’d done

A wind swirling and unsettled

Comes spinning toward me again

Leaving me feeling nervous and tense

Wonder what it will bring next

A wind swirling and unsettled

Wishing it would simply be still

Willing it to gently rest on my shoulders

That I might know peace in its care

Karen Quinn 2013

Leave a Reply

