Leave a comment

Sleepless

moon 008

Sleepless for reasons of which I cannot be sure

The darkness has wrapped the house in its silent veil

Yet the sound of my own thoughts has become deafening.

 

Sleepless for hours uncounted as I sit watching time

It drifts by as so many waves upon the shore, in vain

Yet I blink away sleep as each thought washes me in loss.

 

Sleepless in spite of my wish to dream in bright color

Willing myself to stop my mind from visiting this dark place

Yet knowing it would be like holding back the shifting wind.

 

Sleepless yet naught which I consider has any value

The effort spent will not yield return of change or even praise

Yet my thoughts labor realizing I remain still not good enough.

Karen Quinn 2012

Leave a Reply

