Leave a comment

The Beginning Is Easy

The road is covered in dusty earth,

As I walk the steps are bold and strong.

Starting a journey of such great length

Somehow seems easy and not over long.

…..The steps grow shorter as I move along

…..And so too the weight I carry grows

…..The steps become labored in the effort

…..As I now shuffle fearing my struggle shows.

Even farther I walk as the dust comes to life

With each step the stirring of earth and soot

Raise dark cloud of choking air around me

Hiding the evidence trail left by fall of foot.

…..And the road turns sharply left and right

…..With sudden dips and crests appearing

…..Becoming easier to stare ahead then move

…..Stumbling with each misstep now fearing

Yet for all my effort to walk this changing road

The task for me grows ever tiresome and bleak

While hopeful for peace and joy at journey’s end

Seems but illusions await, impossible to find what I seek.

Karen Quinn 1998

Leave a Reply

