Leave a comment

Oh, But to Just be….

Image

Oh but to just be pleasing! Shouts single grey cloud in sky of blue

Oh for people to call up unto me, “You are but loveliness smokey and true.”

Yet it cannot be, I am but what they choose to see.

Oh, but to just be proper!  Shouts drop of crimson wine on cloth of white

Oh, for people to see art in this and say. “Masterpiece, upon weft and weave.”

Yet it cannot be, I am but what they choose to see.

Oh, but to just be right! Shouts scribble on page amid eraser’s shredded dust

Oh, for people to read twixt lines, saying. “What lovely intent so misunderstood.”

Yet it cannot be, I am but what they choose to see.

Oh, but to be just valued! Shouts lint covered dime in pocket otherwise empty

Oh, for people to hold as worthy and say, “How lucky to find you when needed.”

Yet it cannot be, I am but what they choose to see.

Oh, to but be just me! Shouts covered voice beneath the crowd’s din

Oh, for people to hear with care and decide, “Perhaps I have misjudged, somehow.”

Yet it cannot be, I am but what they choose to see.

Karen Quinn 2013

Leave a Reply

