Leave a comment

Echo

Image

The depth and cadence of this rhythm

that circles my heart and soul

cannot be escaped or ignored

relentless as the bells that toll

 

The power and strength of this force

that pushes my life wearying my limbs

cannot be escaped or ignored

frightening as it plays out its whims

 

The height and breath of this ledge

that pulls at my thoughts and my mind

cannot be escaped or ignored

deceitful as words given only meant to bind

 

The pitch and volume of this scream

that echos in my ears and head

cannot be escaped or ignored

disappointed as the gossip mill is fed

Karen Quinn 2004 rev 2013

Leave a Reply

