Leave a comment

Sunset

Image

I watched the sun set once, alone

it dropped in silent beauty

reaching out to hold the world below

embracing the horizon and my soul.

 

I watched the sun set once, in awe

it glowed a flaming orange and red

hiding behind a shadowed stand of trees

setting them ablaze with passionate light.

 

I watched the sun set, so peaceful

it slipped slowly out of sight

leaving the world to dance with darkness

kissing its beloved sky and me goodnight.

 

I watched the sun set once, and found

it wore a face somehow familiar to me

becoming you, the sunshine of my world

which sets suddenly only to rise and love again.

Leave a Reply

