Leave a comment

Always, Once, No more

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Always a part of my world,

Gentle wordless creatures, of fur or feathers

Unconditional and loving, ever present and near

Seeking only a little affection or food, and in return,

Giving more than human ever could give.

Always a part of my world,

Kittens and puppies, horses and birds, companions

Filling the empty places hidden away, making me whole

Not judge and jury but warmth and acceptance, a friend

Believing me to be better than I could be.

Always a part of my world,

Animals they say, just pets, yet so much more human

Than so many humans whom I have known, they are pure

Knowing only that you are theirs, and so happy in that belonging

Never turning away, rather pulling always closer.

Always a part of my world,

But in this moment, only in my memory, over quiet

The familiar brush against my thigh has passed away, too still

Hours passing away as though missing piece or opened wound

Have left me diminished, longing for what is lost.

Karen Quinn 2013

Leave a Reply

